Testing and test scores


Submission of standardized test scores will be optional for first-time freshman applicants.  Instead, we will utilize the combination of the student’s high school class rank and GPA.  Students may still submit SAT and/or ACT test scores for admission; this will not give the student any advantage or disadvantage. 

The information below may be used for future admission terms. 

SAT and ACT test requirements for international freshmen
To be considered for admission, you must submit official standardized test scores from either the SAT Reasoning examination or the ACT examination to the Office of Recruitment and Admissions.

TOEFL or IELTS requirements for international freshmen
International applicants whose native language is not English must take the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) examinations. Unless exempt (see below), you must submit official standardized TOEFL or IELTS test scores and meet or exceed the following minimum requirements for the respective exams:

Test type Score
If you take the TOEFL paper examination 550
If you take the TOEFL internet examination 79-80
If you take the IELTS examination 6.5

TOEFL and IELTS exemptions
The following international applicants are exempt from submitting a TOEFL or IELTS score if one of the following conditions is met:

    • The applicant completed a bachelor's degree at a U.S. or Canadian institution of higher education, or
    • The applicant successfully completed two years of instruction (taught in the English Language) at a U.S. or Canadian high school or college, or
    • a minimum SAT critical reading score of 600, or
    • a minimum ACT English score of 27, or
    • The applicant provides other compelling evidence of English proficiency to the Office of Recruitment and Admissions.

    Applicants from the following countries are exempt from submitting a TOEFL or IELTS score:
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Botswana *
  • Canada: All provinces Except Quebec
  • Fiji *
  • The Gambia *
  • Ghana *
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Kiribati
  • Liberia
  • Malta *
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sierra Leone *
  • Solomon Islands
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom
  • Zambia *
  • Zimbabwe *

*Countries with asterisks are subject to review.

After you apply